• Southern Bastards 16 cover - cropped Columns 

    Comics Should Be Cheap! (1/11/2017)

    By | January 10th, 2017
    Posted in Columns | % Comments

    Buying comics can be an expensive hobby. A lot of fans simply can’t afford everything they’re interested in, due to rising prices and the over-saturation of the market with superhero titles.

    That’s why we’re here. Every week, the Multiversity staff is asked “What would you buy this week if you couldn’t go over $20?” and shares their reasons why, in order to help others who might have similar tastes make their own decisions in buying comics on a budget. Be sure to leave your own picks in the comments!

    Leo’s Picks:

    Southern Bastards #16 ($3.50) – Is this any surprise? While it’s far from the most regular book, “Southern Bastards” makes up for its irregular appearances by being one of the best damn books whenever the Jasons do decide to grace us with it. This arc sees Roberta Tubb coming home to find our what happened to her dad and Coach Boss seemingly losing his iron tight grasp on Craw County. Things are about to get very interesting.

    God Country #1 ($3.99) – I like pretty much everything Donny Cates and Geoff Shaw have collaborated on, going back to their Dark Horse book “Buzzkill,” so seeing these two get an Image book is an awesome thing. I read somewhere where they described “God Country” as for fans of “Southern Bastards” and “American Gods,” which are two things I like very much. If this book can deliver on even half that hype, then it’s well worth the $4.

    Birthright #21 ($2.99) – I really like “Birthright” and I’m glad to see them take an issue to focus on one of the more interesting supporting characters and use it as a chance to also do some worldbuilding for Terrenos.

    Spread #18 ($3.99) – Another Image book with some issues staying regular, “Spread” continues to be weird and creepy. Things are starting to get real weird for No and his ragtag band of survivors, so this new arc should be lots of bloody fun.

    Green Valley #4 ($2.99) – I still feel weird putting a Max Landis book on here, but I’ve really enjoyed it so far. It is what it is.

    Total: $17.46. A week of nothing but Image titles for me. All hail Image!

    Vince’s Picks:

    Justice League of America: Vixen One-Shot ($2.99) – Steve Orlando killed the Atom one-shot issue last week, so I’m all in for these. It doesn’t hurt that Jody Houser (currently writing the killer “Mother Panic” series for the ‘Young Animal’ line) is co-writing. I love that DC appears to be bringing a sprinkle of ‘DCYou’ flavor to a mainstream Justice League title by putting exciting and unexpected writers and artists to the project. It says a lot about DC’s confidence in what Orlando’s doing that they’re doing this much lead-up to the new ongoing title.

    Motor Crush #2 ($3.99) – Issue #1 delivered on every bit of the promise that the creative team brings to the table. It’s like “Batgirl” relaunching all over again, but with experience under their belts working together. This comic fires on all cylinders.

    Lobster Johnson: Garden of Bones One-Shot ($3.99) – I love Lobster Johnson. I love it because, while the Mignola-verse has a long and storied history that’s incredibly satisfying to follow, I think these pulpy fun LoJo stories are pretty easy to just jump in and out of. This one’s a one-shot, so if you’ve never tried one before, he’s a low stakes way of making that happen. Do it.

    Deathstroke #10 ($2.99) – I’ll never believe that some of the richest storytelling in modern cape comics is happening in a twice-monthly Deathstroke book. Long live Christopher Priest.

    Total: $13.96

    Brian’s Picks:

    Lobster Johnson: Garden of Bones #1 ($3.99) – With John Arcudi off of “B.P.R.D.,” the only place in the Mignolaverse that he still gets the flex his muscles is over on LoJo books. If that isn’t reason enough to keep picking up the books, I don’t know what to tell you.

    Deathstroke #10 ($2.99) – There is so much good shit happening in this book, it is almost comical. Who’d have thunk a Deathstroke book could be this good?

    Continued below

    Titans #7 ($2.99) – I would pay twice this each month to have a Brett Booth-free “Titans” issue, but it appears this is the lone issue he’s skipping for now. A boy can always dream.

    God Country #1 ($3.99) – Donny Cates is a creator on the rise, and the premise of this book sounds intriguing – an Image #1 is almost never a waste of money.

    Southern Bastards #16 ($3.99) – Our consensus best book of both 2015 and 2016 doesn’t exactly keep up a monthly release schedule, but whenever an issue drops, it is reason for celebration. So celebrate!

    Total: $17.95

    Ken’s Picks:

    Southern Bastards #16 ($3.99): This book’s release schedule is all over the place, but Aaron and Latour’s drama is still one of the highlights whenever it’s out.

    Deathstroke #10 ($2.99): This book continues to be The Best.

    Detective Comics #948 ($2.99): After the up-and-down ending of “The Victim Syndicate”, James Tynion is teaming with Marguritte Bennett to delve into a two-part prequel to the upcoming “Batwoman” ongoing. Plus, it’s got wonderful Ben Oliver artwork.

    Gotham Academy: Second Semester #5 ($2.99): It’s been a bit, but the book has come back to the present day and lots of plot points are beginning to converge.

    Justice League/Power Rangers ($3.99): Ah, Power Rangers. Such charming goofiness. You figure this crossover would have happened years ago. That being said, Tom Taylor gets to write a Superman that isn’t a fascist, so that’s a big ol’ plus.

    Total: $16.95

    Matthew’s Picks:

    Wonder Woman #14 ($2.99) – The finale of “Year One.” Rucka and Scott’s take on Wondy vs. Ares. Curious to see how it unfolds.

    Birthright #21 ($2.99) – Josh Williamson is doing fantastic things in comics right now. “Birthright” is a prime example, and Andrei Bressan is phenomenal. This is one of Image’s best series right now.

    The Flash #14 ($2.99) – And speaking of Williamson, don’t miss out on his run on “The Flash.” It’s been really fun so far; Captain Cold is back, and so is Carmine Di Giadomenico.

    (You can also nab “Justice League vs Suicide Squad” #4, if you’re into all that, because it’s surprisingly fun)

    Mighty Thor #15 ($3.99) – Jason Aaron and Russell Dauterman kick off “The Asgard / Shi’Ar War,” and I can only assume killer things based on everything that’s led up to this.

    All-Star Batman #6 ($4.99) – Jock joins Snyder for a Mr. Freeze story, and suddenly I have 3 (kinda 4) DC books on my pull with only one Marvel one. What’s going on?

    Total: $17.95 – $21.94 if you nab that DC event book too.


    //TAGS | Comics Should Be Cheap

    Multiversity Staff

    We are the Multiversity Staff, and we love you very much.

    EMAIL | ARTICLES


  • Columns
    Comics Should Be Cheap! (7/18/2018)

    By | Jul 17, 2018 | Columns

    Buying comics can be an expensive hobby. A lot of fans simply can’t afford everything they’re interested in, due to rising prices and the over-saturation of the market with superhero titles.That’s why we’re here. Every week, the Multiversity staff is asked “What would you buy this week if you couldn’t go over $20?” and shares […]

    MORE »
    Relay #1 featured Columns
    Comics Should Be Cheap! (7/11/2018)

    By | Jul 10, 2018 | Columns

    Buying comics can be an expensive hobby. A lot of fans simply can’t afford everything they’re interested in, due to rising prices and the over-saturation of the market with superhero titles.That’s why we’re here. Every week, the Multiversity staff is asked “What would you buy this week if you couldn’t go over $20?” and shares […]

    MORE »
    Columns
    Comics Should Be Cheap! (7/4/2018)

    By | Jul 3, 2018 | Columns

    Buying comics can be an expensive hobby. A lot of fans simply can’t afford everything they’re interested in, due to rising prices and the over-saturation of the market with superhero titles.That’s why we’re here. Every week, the Multiversity staff is asked “What would you buy this week if you couldn’t go over $20?” and shares […]

    MORE »

    -->