• Harvey-Awards-2018-logo News 

    2018 Harvey Awards Nominees Announced

    By | August 9th, 2018
    Posted in News | % Comments

    The nominees for the 2018 Harvey Awards have been announced, and revealed to have been drastically shortened since the last ceremony in 2016, with only six categories this year. Instead of an exhaustive ceremony honoring different creators for their work, this year’s event will specifically honor six specific titles. And the nominees are:

    Book of the Year

    BLACK HAMMER: SECRET ORIGINS by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston and Dave Stewart (Dark Horse)
    BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
    EVERYTHING IS FLAMMABLE by Gabrielle Bell (Uncivilized Books)
    HOSTAGE by Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)
    KINDRED by Octavia E. Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and illustrated by John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)
    LIGHTER THAN MY SHADOW by Katie Green (Lion Forge)
    MONSTRESS by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)
    MY FAVORITE THING IS MONSTERS by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
    ROUGHNECK by Jeff Lemire (Gallery 13)
    SHADE THE CHANGING GIRL by Cecil Castellucci and Marley Zarcone (DC Comics)
    SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
    THE BEST WE COULD DO by Thi Bui (Abrams Books)
    THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS WRONG by Mimi Pond (Drawn and Quarterly)
    THE FLINSTONES by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (DC Comics)
    THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)

    Digital Book of the Year

    BANDETTE by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
    BARRIER by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)
    CHECK, PLEASE!: #HOCKEY by Ngozi Ukazu (checkpleasecomic.com)
    NOT DRUNK ENOUGH by Tessa Stone (ndecomic.com)
    THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY by Katie O’Neill (teadragonsociety.com)

    Best Children or Young Adult Book

    BRAVE by Svetlana Chmakova (JY)
    REAL FRIENDS by Shannon Hale and LeUyeun Pham (First Second)
    SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
    THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)
    THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY, by Katie O’Neill (Oni Press)

    Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel

    ATOMIC BLONDE (Focus Features) – Directed by David Leitch. Adapted from “The Coldest City” (Oni Press)
    BLACK PANTHER (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from “Black Panther” (Marvel Comics)
    THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Chris McKay. Adapted from “Batman” (DC Comics)
    LOGAN (20th Century Fox) – Directed by James Mangold. Adapted from “Wolverine” (Marvel Comics)
    MY FRIEND DAHMER (FilmRise) – Directed by Marc Meyers. Adapted from “My Friend Dahmer” (Abrams ComicArts)
    PREACHER (AMC) – Developed by Sam Catlin, Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg. Adapted from “Preacher” (DC/Vertigo)
    RIVERDALE (The CW) – Developed by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Adapted from “Archie” (Archie Comics)
    THE END OF THE F***ING WORLD (Netflix) – Written by Charlie Covell. Adapted from “The End of the F***ing World” (Fantagraphics)
    THOR: RAGNAROK (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Taika Waititi. Adapted from “Thor” (Marvel Comics)
    WONDER WOMAN (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Patty Jenkins. Adapted from “Wonder Woman” (DC Comics)

    Best Manga

    MY BROTHER’S HUSBAND by Gengoroh Tagame Anne Ishii (Pantheon Graphic Library)
    MY HERO ACADEMIA by Kohei Horikoshi (Viz Media)
    TOKYO GHOUL by Sui Ishida (Viz Media)
    YOUR NAME by Makoto Shinkai and Ranmaru Kotone (Yen Press)

    Continued below

    Best European Book

    AUDUBON: ON THE WINGS OF THE WORLD by Fabien Grolleau and Jerémie Royer (Nobrow)
    FLIGHT OF THE RAVEN by Jean-Pierre Gibrat (IDW)
    THE GHOST OF GAUDI by El Torres and Jesús Alonso Iglesias (Magnetic Press)
    THE LADIES IN WAITING by Santiago García and Javier Olivares (Fantagraphics)

    Additionally, the Harvey Kurtzman Award for Humor, Harvey Hall of Fame Award, and the International Spotlight Award will be presented to individuals chosen by the Harvey Awards Executive Committee. The ceremony will be held at the New York Comic Con on October 5, marking the 30th anniversary of the awards, the second awards held there after it moved from Baltimore Comic Con, and the first full ceremony there.

    Voting is now open eligible industry professionals, namely those who have been approved by co-organizer ReedPOP for a Pro Badge or Artist Alley Badge at a 2016, 2017 or 2018 ReedPOP comic convention (eg. New York Comic Con, Emerald City Comic Con, C2E2). Voting will conclude on September 3rd and can be applied for here.

    Christopher Chiu-Tabet

    Chris is the news manager of Multiversity Comics. A writer from London on the autistic spectrum, he enjoys tweeting and blogging on Medium about his favourite films, TV shows, books, music, and games, plus history and religion. He is Lebanese/Chinese, although he can't speak Cantonese or Arabic.