• Harvey-Awards-2018-logo News 

    NYCC ’18: The Harvey Awards Winners

    By | October 6th, 2018
    Posted in News | % Comments

    The ceremony for the Harvey Awards were held last night. This year’s Harveys marked the 30th anniversary of the awards, and the first to be held at New York Comic Con since their move from Baltimore Comic-Con. The number of categories has been reduced significantly from last year’s awards, with only 6 categories, rather than 22. The 2018 Harvey Award nominees and winners (highlighted in bold) are as follows:

    Cover by Sana Takeda
    Book of the Year

    BLACK HAMMER: SECRET ORIGINS by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston and Dave Stewart (Dark Horse)
    BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
    EVERYTHING IS FLAMMABLE by Gabrielle Bell (Uncivilized Books)
    HOSTAGE by Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)
    KINDRED by Octavia E. Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and illustrated by John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)
    LIGHTER THAN MY SHADOW by Katie Green (Lion Forge)
    MONSTRESS by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)
    MY FAVORITE THING IS MONSTERS by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
    ROUGHNECK by Jeff Lemire (Gallery 13)
    SHADE THE CHANGING GIRL by Cecil Castellucci and Marley Zarcone (DC Comics)
    SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
    THE BEST WE COULD DO by Thi Bui (Abrams Books)
    THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS WRONG by Mimi Pond (Drawn and Quarterly)
    THE FLINSTONES by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (DC Comics)
    THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)

    Cover by Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente
    Digital Book of the Year

    BANDETTE by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
    BARRIER by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)
    CHECK, PLEASE!: #HOCKEY by Ngozi Ukazu (checkpleasecomic.com)
    NOT DRUNK ENOUGH by Tessa Stone (ndecomic.com)
    THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY by Katie O’Neill (teadragonsociety.com)

    Cover by Katie O'Neill
    Cover by Jen Wang

    Best Children or Young Adult Book

    BRAVE by Svetlana Chmakova (JY)
    REAL FRIENDS by Shannon Hale and LeUyeun Pham (First Second)
    SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
    THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)
    THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY, by Katie O’Neill (Oni Press)

    Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel

    ATOMIC BLONDE (Focus Features) – Directed by David Leitch. Adapted from “The Coldest City” (Oni Press)
    BLACK PANTHER (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from “Black Panther” (Marvel Comics)
    THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Chris McKay. Adapted from “Batman” (DC Comics)
    LOGAN (20th Century Fox) – Directed by James Mangold. Adapted from “Wolverine” (Marvel Comics)
    MY FRIEND DAHMER (FilmRise) – Directed by Marc Meyers. Adapted from “My Friend Dahmer” (Abrams ComicArts)
    PREACHER (AMC) – Developed by Sam Catlin, Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg. Adapted from “Preacher” (DC/Vertigo)
    RIVERDALE (The CW) – Developed by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Adapted from “Archie” (Archie Comics)
    THE END OF THE F***ING WORLD (Netflix) – Written by Charlie Covell. Adapted from “The End of the F***ing World” (Fantagraphics)
    THOR: RAGNAROK (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Taika Waititi. Adapted from “Thor” (Marvel Comics)
    WONDER WOMAN (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Patty Jenkins. Adapted from “Wonder Woman” (DC Comics)

    Cover by Nagata Kabi
    Best Manga

    MY BROTHER’S HUSBAND by Gengoroh Tagame Anne Ishii (Pantheon Graphic Library)
    MY HERO ACADEMIA by Kohei Horikoshi (Viz Media)
    TOKYO GHOUL by Sui Ishida (Viz Media)
    YOUR NAME by Makoto Shinkai and Ranmaru Kotone (Yen Press)

    Cover by Pénélope Bagieu
    Best European Book

    AUDUBON: ON THE WINGS OF THE WORLD by Fabien Grolleau and Jerémie Royer (Nobrow)
    FLIGHT OF THE RAVEN by Jean-Pierre Gibrat (IDW)
    THE GHOST OF GAUDI by El Torres and Jesús Alonso Iglesias (Magnetic Press)
    THE LADIES IN WAITING by Santiago García and Javier Olivares (Fantagraphics)

    As well as the six book categories, there were the two individual awards and two inductees into the new Harvey Awards Hall of Fame.

    Continued below

    2018 International Spotlight Award:

    Harold Sakuishi , a Japanese manga artist whose bibliography includes “Gorillaman,” “Beck” and “Seven Shakespeares.”

    2018 Comic Pioneer Honor:

    Jackie Estrada is the co-publisher of Exhibit A Press, and administrator of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, who helped organize San Diego Comic-Con in the mid-1970s. She also was the creator of the Artists’ Alley and coordinated the first iteration of it. To date, she has edited nine of the convention’s program books.

    2018 Hall of Fame Inductees:

    Roz Chast, an American cartoonist best known for her work in The New Yorker as well as Scientific American and Harvard Business Review
    Dave Gibbons, an English comic book artist most well known for illustrating “Watchmen” and “2000 AD” in the late 1970s.

    Congratulations to all of the winners!

    //TAGS | NYCC '18

    Luke Cornelius

    Luke is an English and American Literature and Creative Writing graduate. He likes spending his time reading comics (obviously), going out on long walks and watching films/TV series.


  • -->