• Harvey-Awards-2018-logo News 

    2019 Harvey Award Nominations Announced

    By | August 14th, 2019
    Posted in News | % Comments

    The 31st annual Harvey Awards will be held at the New York Comic Con on October 4, and the nominations for all six categories have been announced. Voting is now open to all eligible industry professionals, including creators, librarians and retailers (who can apply here) until September 10. Now without further ado, here are the nominees:

    Book of the Year

    “Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home” by Nora Krug (Scribner)
    “Berlin” by Jason Lutes (Drawn & Quarterly)
    “BTTM FDRS” by Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore (Fantagraphics)
    “Hey Kiddo” by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
    “Kid Gloves” by Lucy Knisley (First Second)
    “Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me” by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
    “My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies” by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
    “On a Sunbeam” by Tillie Walden (First Second)
    “Upgrade Soul” by Ezra Claytan Daniels (Lion Forge)
    “When I Arrived at the Castle” by Emily Carroll (Koyama Press)

    Digital Book of the Year

    “Check, Please” by Ngozi Ukazu: www.checkpleasecomic.com
    “Space Boy” by Stephen McCranie: www.webtoons.com/en/drama/space-boy/list?title_no=400&page=1
    “The Contradictions” by Sophie Yanow: www.thecontradictions.com
    The Nib edited by Matt Bors: www.thenib.com
    “Woman World” by Aminder Dhaliwal: www.webtoons.com/en/challenge/woman-world/list?title_no=100912&page=1

    Best Children’s or Young Adult Book

    “Hey Kiddo” by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
    “Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me” by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
    “Mr. Wolf’s Class #2: Mystery Club” by Aron Nels Steinke (Scholastic Graphix)
    “New Kid” by Jerry Craft (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
    “On a Sunbeam” by Tillie Walden (First Second)

    Best Manga

    “Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection” by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
    “Mob Psycho 100” by ONE (Dark Horse Manga)
    “My Hero Academia” by Kohei Horikoshi (VIZ Media)
    “Our Dreams at Dusk” by Yuhki Kamatani (Seven Seas)
    “Smashed” by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
    “Witch Hat Atelier” by Kamome Shirahama (Kodansha Comics)

    Best European Book

    “Corto Maltese” by Hugo Pratt (IDW Publishing)
    “O Josephine” by Jason (Fantagraphics)
    “Radiant” by Tony Valente (VIZ Media)
    “Red Ultramarine” by Manuele Fior, translated by Jamie Richards (Fantagraphics)
    “Waves” by Ingrid Chabbert and Carole Maurel (Archaia)

    Best Comics Adaptation Award

    Alita: Battle Angel, by 20th Century Fox, based on “Battle Angel Alita” (Kodansha USA)
    Avengers: Endgame by Marvel Studios, based on The Avengers (Marvel Comics)
    The Boys by Amazon Studios, based on “The Boys” (Dynamite Entertainment)
    Captain Marvel by Marvel Studios, based on “Captain Marvel” (Marvel Comics)
    Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, by Netflix, based on “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina” (Archie Comics)
    Doom Patrol by DC Universe, based on “Doom Patrol” (DC Comics)
    Marvel’s Spider-Man by Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
    The Snagglepuss Chronicles, by Provincetown Tennessee Williams Theater Festival and Die-Cast, based on Exit, Stage Left!: The Snagglepuss Chronicles (DC Comics)
    Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse by Columbia Pictures and Sony Pictures Animation, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
    The Umbrella Academy by Netflix, based on “The Umbrella Academy” (Dark Horse Comics)

    Christopher Chiu-Tabet

    Chris is a writer from London on the autistic spectrum, who enjoys tweeting and blogging on Medium about his favourite films, TV shows, books, music, games as well as history and religion. He is Lebanese/Chinese, although he can't speak Cantonese or Arabic. He also writes for Nerdy POC.