• Killer-Groove-1-featured News 

    AfterShock Announce “Killer Groove” for May

    By | February 11th, 2019
    Posted in News | % Comments
    Cover by Eoin Marron

    AfterShock Comics have announced a new series, “Killer Groove,” will launch in May. The series will be written by Ollie Masters (“The Kitchen”) and be drawn by Eoin Marron (“Avengers Halloween Special”). Jordie Bellaire (“Redlands”) will be providing the colors for the interior artwork, with Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou (“Red Sonja”) lettering. Tríona Farrell (“West Coast Avengers”) will be coloring Marron’s cover art for the series. Cliff Richards (“Buffy the Vampire Slayer”) will be providing a variant cover for the first issue.

    The series will be set in 1970s Los Angeles, and tell the story of an “unsuccessful musician finding success and musical inspiration as a contract killer.” In an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Masters described the series as a “cocktail of Chandler, Leonard, the Coen Bros., Mann, Soderbergh and rock music of the ’70s.” He also detailed how the series is rooted in some of his own experiences as a drummer, but joked that he “never started killing people so I guess that’s where the comparison stops.” Having worked with Masters before on “Sons of Anarchy: Redwood Original,” Marron described the opportunity for them to work together again, on their “own terms,” as “crazy exciting.” He also described Bellaire and Otsmane-Elhaou as “insanely skilled individuals I’ve been dying to work with on interiors,” concluding that to call them a “dream team would be an understatement.”

    “Killer Groove” #1 is set for release on May 29.

    Luke Cornelius

    Luke is currently a student studying English and American Literature and Creative Writing. When he's not studying he spends his time reading comics, out on long walks or watching films/TV series.