• News 

    Image Announces New All-Ages Series “Oddly Normal”

    By | April 24th, 2014
    Posted in News | % Comments

    Announced today as C2E2 is getting ready to begin, Image has unveiled a brand new ongoing entitled “Oddly Normal,” set for release later this Fall.

    Written and illustrated by Otis Frampton, the book follows a ten-year-old girl named Oddly Normal, whose mother is from a place called Fignation and whose father is from our regular old world. And now? Now, stuck in the middle, she has to deal with going to a strange new school right as Evil Itself rears its ugly head. And if this is what school is like ten, imagine when she’s old enough to go to prom!

    Interestingly enough, a couple months ago at Emerald City, we asked Stephenson about what kind of books Image wanted to publish, he said:

    The only thing I ask people about is if they have any all-ages things that they think they would really enjoy doing, we’d love to hear about that. No pressure to do it. I do look at our slate of books and it’s all very adult oriented, so it would be nice to get some stuff in there that was a little more kid friendly.

    And, hey! Look! A new all-ages book! Everybody wins in the end.

    For the full press release from Image, please see below.

    Image Press Release

    Image Comics is pleased to announce the launch of cartoonist Otis Frampton’s charming all-ages ongoing fantasy series, ODDLY NORMAL, coming this Fall.

    Meet Oddly Normal, a ten-year-old girl with pointed ears and green hair—a half-witch who will be the first to tell you that having a mother who hails from a magical land called Fignation and a father native to the mortal realm doesn’t make it easy to make friends at school, to say the least! On her birthday, she blows out her cake’s candles and makes an impulsive and disastrous wish. Now, Oddly must travel into the magical world of Fignation to uncover the mystery of her parents’ disappearance. Join Oddly as she navigates a strange new school, monstrous bullies, and Evil itself on an unforgettable fantasy adventure through the vibrant world of Fignation in ODDLY NORMAL.

    “I’m absolutely thrilled that Oddly Normal will be published by Image Comics,” said Frampton. “It’s a twenty-year dream-come-true to have a creator-owned book at the company that made me want to make comics professionally. When I sent out submissions for this book, Image was my ‘never gonna happen, but I gotta take the shot’ company. I couldn’t be happier with how that long-shot pitch turned out!”

    ODDLY NORMAL is an all-ages fantasy adventure in the tradition of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland coming to Image Comics in the Fall.

    Frampton will attend C2E2 this weekend and will be at Artist Alley table G15, Friday-Sunday, all day.


    Matthew Meylikhov

    Once upon a time, Matthew Meylikhov became the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Multiversity Comics, where he was known for his beard and fondness for cats. Then he became only one of those things. Now, if you listen really carefully at night, you may still hear from whispers on the wind a faint voice saying, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine is not as bad as everyone says it issss."

    EMAIL | ARTICLES