Paper-Mice-by-Paul-K-Tunis Podcasts 

Comics Syllabus 015 – Poetry Comics w Paul K Tunis; Ignatz, Bianca Xunise, and “Your Black Friend” by Ben Passmore

By | September 19th, 2017
Posted in Podcasts | 2 Comments

Welcome to the Comics Syllabus podcast, where we read widely and we dig deep. Your host Paul, a literacy researcher and English teacher, sometimes partnering with comics critics, creators, and scholars and sometimes solo on the mic, introduces curious readers to a range of current and classic comics, and then engages in closer discussion and analysis of particular comics works.

[audio: http://feeds.soundcloud.com/stream/343013975-twoplai-015-comics-poetry-w-paul-k-tunis-plus-say-her-name-by-bianca-xunise-and-your-black-friend-by-ben-passmore.mp3]

Or download the podcast episode here.

On this week’s Comics Syllabus podcast, Paul has the pleasure of speaking with Paul K. Tunis, comics poet (find him at http://paulktunis.com/) and an editor for InkBrick (at http://inkbrick.com/), the poetry comics journal, for a General Ed segment (at 4:58) to look at how comics do poetry, with the example of Tunis’ own beautiful and troubling work (see “Paper Mice” above, as well as many examples on his website). More artists and stuff listed in the links below…

(At 1:01:00) Then, Paul discusses two Ignatz Award winners from this past weekend at Small Press Expo (SPX), “Your Black Friend” by Ben Passmore (available at https://store.silversprocket.net/products/your-black-friend-comic-book-by-ben-passmore) and “Say Her Name” by Bianca Xunise (available at https://southsideweekly.com/say-her-name/). Paul explores cartooning and racial discourse in these times, touches on criticism and comics art, and sings kumbaya with more than a little hesitation.

Finally, in the Discussion Section (1:43:05), shout outs some good friends and a few questions and recs from you listener-participants of the Syllabus out there.

Subscribe and follow the Comics Syllabus podcast on Apple Podcasts, Stitcher, or Soundcloud, or copy this RSS feed to your podcatcher: http://feeds.soundcloud.com/users/soundcloud:users:235183739/sounds.rss or you can find archives for this podcast (previously named “Study Comics with Paul”) here: http://studycomics.club/

Join the discussion on the Comics Syllabus Facebook page: http://facebook.com/ComicsSyllabus or Follow Paul on Twitter: https://twitter.com/TwoPlai or leave your comments here on the showpage.

Thanks for listening!

 

FROM PAUL K. TUNIS:

William Blake: http://www.blakearchive.org/

Joe Brainard C Comics: https://www.divisionleap.com/pages/books/20772/joe-brainard-ed/c-comics-no-1

Matthea Harvey: http://www.mattheaharvey.info/

Alexander Rothman: http://versequential.com/

Warren Craghead: http://craghead.com/

 

IGNATZ and PASSMORE and XUNISE

SPX Ignatz Awards: https://www.spxpo.com/ignatz-awards

Washington Post Comic Riffs coverage: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/comic-riffs/wp/2017/09/18/emil-ferriss-graphic-novel-monsters-tops-diverse-slate-of-2017-ignatz-award-winners/

Mary Sue coverage: https://www.themarysue.com/2017-ignatz-award-winners/

Preview pages from “Your Black Friend” by Ben Passmore from Silver Sprocket at https://store.silversprocket.net/products/your-black-friend-comic-book-by-ben-passmore

 

 


//TAGS | Comics Syllabus

Paul Lai

EMAIL | ARTICLES


  • Podcasts
    Comics Syllabus 215: Mark Russell talks “Billionaire Island” and “Second Coming”

    By | Mar 10, 2020 | Podcasts

    Or download the podcast episode here.On this week’s episode, we’re graced by an interview with Mark Russell, writer of the Ahoy Comics series “Billionaire Island” with artist Steve Pugh and the newly collected first arc of “Second Coming” with artist Richard Pace. Mark Russell talks with Paul about the origins of these sharply satirical but […]

    MORE »
    sports is hell Podcasts
    Comics Syllabus 213: On “Sports is Hell” by Ben Passmore

    By | Feb 11, 2020 | Podcasts

    Or download the podcast episode here.Ben Passmore’s new “Sports is Hell” from Koyama Press satirically sends up our intertwined sports, politics, and cultural madnesses. Paul and Johnny dig deep into the short graphic novel.But first, our “Picks and Shovels” (What We’re Reading) include:Johnny: “The Last God” (DC Black Label), “Nancy” by Olivia Jaimes (Andrews McMeel), […]

    MORE »

    -->