• Paper-Mice-by-Paul-K-Tunis Podcasts 

    Comics Syllabus 015 – Poetry Comics w Paul K Tunis; Ignatz, Bianca Xunise, and “Your Black Friend” by Ben Passmore

    By | September 19th, 2017
    Posted in Podcasts | 2 Comments

    Welcome to the Comics Syllabus podcast, where we read widely and we dig deep. Your host Paul, a literacy researcher and English teacher, sometimes partnering with comics critics, creators, and scholars and sometimes solo on the mic, introduces curious readers to a range of current and classic comics, and then engages in closer discussion and analysis of particular comics works.

    Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

    Or download the podcast episode here.

    On this week’s Comics Syllabus podcast, Paul has the pleasure of speaking with Paul K. Tunis, comics poet (find him at http://paulktunis.com/) and an editor for InkBrick (at http://inkbrick.com/), the poetry comics journal, for a General Ed segment (at 4:58) to look at how comics do poetry, with the example of Tunis’ own beautiful and troubling work (see “Paper Mice” above, as well as many examples on his website). More artists and stuff listed in the links below…

    (At 1:01:00) Then, Paul discusses two Ignatz Award winners from this past weekend at Small Press Expo (SPX), “Your Black Friend” by Ben Passmore (available at https://store.silversprocket.net/products/your-black-friend-comic-book-by-ben-passmore) and “Say Her Name” by Bianca Xunise (available at https://southsideweekly.com/say-her-name/). Paul explores cartooning and racial discourse in these times, touches on criticism and comics art, and sings kumbaya with more than a little hesitation.

    Finally, in the Discussion Section (1:43:05), shout outs some good friends and a few questions and recs from you listener-participants of the Syllabus out there.

    Subscribe and follow the Comics Syllabus podcast on Apple Podcasts, Stitcher, or Soundcloud, or copy this RSS feed to your podcatcher: http://feeds.soundcloud.com/users/soundcloud:users:235183739/sounds.rss or you can find archives for this podcast (previously named “Study Comics with Paul”) here: http://studycomics.club/

    Join the discussion on the Comics Syllabus Facebook page: http://facebook.com/ComicsSyllabus or Follow Paul on Twitter: https://twitter.com/TwoPlai or leave your comments here on the showpage.

    Thanks for listening!

     

    FROM PAUL K. TUNIS:

    William Blake: http://www.blakearchive.org/

    Joe Brainard C Comics: https://www.divisionleap.com/pages/books/20772/joe-brainard-ed/c-comics-no-1

    Matthea Harvey: http://www.mattheaharvey.info/

    Alexander Rothman: http://versequential.com/

    Warren Craghead: http://craghead.com/

     

    IGNATZ and PASSMORE and XUNISE

    SPX Ignatz Awards: https://www.spxpo.com/ignatz-awards

    Washington Post Comic Riffs coverage: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/comic-riffs/wp/2017/09/18/emil-ferriss-graphic-novel-monsters-tops-diverse-slate-of-2017-ignatz-award-winners/

    Mary Sue coverage: https://www.themarysue.com/2017-ignatz-award-winners/

    Preview pages from “Your Black Friend” by Ben Passmore from Silver Sprocket at https://store.silversprocket.net/products/your-black-friend-comic-book-by-ben-passmore

     

     


    //TAGS | Comics Syllabus

    Paul Lai

    EMAIL | ARTICLES


  • paul-lai-by-Max-Sarin-sized-smaller Podcasts
    Comics Syllabus: Farewell for Now

    By | Jul 3, 2018 | Podcasts

    A farewell… for now. Paul is redirecting his podcasting energies to start “Mother Box: A New Gods and Jack Kirby’s Fourth World Podcast” with Matt Lune, as well as to appear weekly on the Comics Alternative and pursue other endeavors. This episode is a fond farewell as the Comics Syllabus podcast goes on indefinite hiatus, […]

    MORE »
    Podcasts
    Comics Syllabus: Chad Sell on “Cardboard Kingdom”

    By | Jun 12, 2018 | Podcasts

    [Audio clip: view full post to listen]Or download the podcast episode here.Chad Sell, the creator and artist of the wonderful new all-ages graphic novel, “The Cardboard Kingdom” (Penguin Random House), joins Paul to tell the inspiring origin story of the book, co-written with a team of contributors. Just as Chad and many other contributors lent […]

    MORE »

    -->