Author Archives: Jonathan O'Neal

1 2 3 8
Columns
Don’t Miss This: “Silver Surfer: Black”

By | Oct 30, 2019 | Columns

There are a lot of comics out there, but some just stand out head and shoulders above the pack. With “Don’t Miss This” we want to spotlight those series we think need to be on your pull list. This week, we’d like to draw your attention to Marvel’s exquisite five-issue mini-series “Silver Surfer: Black.” Who […]

MORE »
Reviews
“The Marked” #1

By | Oct 18, 2019 | Reviews

We have long since been disabused of the notion that tattoos are the hallmark of criminals, sailors, gang members, and other related ne’er do wells. Tattoos are cool. Moms have tattoos. Dads have tattoos. Your kid’s elementary school teacher has tattoos. Tattoos have become an excepted accessory in the 21st Century, much to the chagrin […]

MORE »
Reviews
“Ruby Falls” #1

By | Oct 4, 2019 | Reviews

The premiere issue of “Ruby Falls,” the latest entry in the Berger Books imprint from Dark Horse Comics, oozes noir elegance. This is comic book industry veteran Ann Nocenti’s second mini series to be shepherded by the legendary editor Karen Berger. The first was Nocenti’s collaboration with David Aja on the hypnotic but currently delayed […]

MORE »
Reviews
“Steeple” #1

By | Sep 20, 2019 | Reviews

John Allison’s droll British wit is on full display in “Steeple” #1, the first installment in a five-issue mini series from Dark Horse Comics written and drawn by the Eisner-winning comic creator. Fans of Allison’s “Giant Days” and “Bad Machinery” should feel right at home in this Cornish countryside. Like a British Sunnydale, the seaside […]

MORE »
Everything-1-featured Reviews
“Everything” #1

By | Sep 6, 2019 | Reviews

The Berger Books imprint of Dark Horse Comics launches another thought-provoking new series with “Everything” #1 not with a thunderous clap, but with a mood-altering invasiveness thanks to the creative team of Christopher Cantrell and I. N. J. Culbard. Borrowing from 1980s suburban paranoia, the book acts not so much as a propulsive narrative that […]

MORE »
pretty-violent-1-featured Reviews
“Pretty Violent” #1

By | Aug 23, 2019 | Reviews

When one of the creative minds behind the weirdly sweet and sweetly weird modern animated classic Adventure Time turns his attention to the comic book medium, it’s difficult not to pay attention. In Derek Hunter’s afterword, he details the moonlighting labor of love that is “Pretty Violent.” It’s not an uncommon refrain for creators of […]

MORE »
Reviews
“Coffin Bound” #1

By | Aug 9, 2019 | Reviews

I’m not going to give “Coffin Bound” #1, the trippy new book from Image by Dan Watters and Dani, a perfect score. I mean, it’s the first issue, and as flawless as this premiere issue is, we need to let the series crescendo, right? It needs to gather a little momentum after dropping readers into […]

MORE »
House-of-X-1-Featured Columns
This Month in Comics: July 2019

By | Aug 6, 2019 | Columns

The month of July began with the surprising end of Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard’s cultural phenomenon “The Walking Dead” with issue 193 and was bookended by a triumphant launch of the first of two mini series about a group of mutants by one of the comic book mediums most-respected creators. One of these things […]

MORE »
Reviews
“Batman: Curse of the White Knight” #1

By | Jul 26, 2019 | Reviews

With “Batman: White Knight,” Sean Murphy captured a Batman aesthetic that felt both futuristic and vintage, timeless even. The book’s muted sepia and cool gray color palette provided by Matt Hollingsworth coupled with Murphy’s trademark hatching and a script that borrowed liberally from Batman’s comic, film, and animated television history combined to create a freestanding […]

MORE »
BTTM-FDRS-Featured Reviews
“BTTM FDRS”

By | Jul 24, 2019 | Reviews

In his follow-up to the decorated “Upgrade Soul,” Ezra Claytan Daniels partners with Ben Passmore and Fantagraphics to present a deeply-thoughtful social commentary wrapped in a tale of urban terror. “BTTM FDRS” continues Daniels’s nascent yet increasingly formidable spin on Cronenbergian body horror, fusing the mounting dread of the best of EC and manga horror […]

MORE »
batman-universe-1-featured Reviews
“Batman Universe” #1

By | Jul 12, 2019 | Reviews

With “Batman Universe” #1, DC presents the first two 12-page stories that were serialized beginning in the third issue of the Walmart exclusive “100-Page GIANT! Batman” books that launched in 2018. It’s a godsend for those of us that either couldn’t or wouldn’t get themselves to the big box superstore. I was in a third […]

MORE »
At the end of your tether Reviews
“At the End of Your Tether” #1

By | Jun 28, 2019 | Reviews

Teen noir is a niche genre that has yielded some captivating content like the soon-to-be-revived on Hulu Veronica Mars, Rian Johnson’s Brick, and most recently, CW’s Riverdale. Dynamite recently gave the genre a whirl with its “Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys” teamup mini-series that (as the marketing folks proclaimed) redefined noir for a new […]

MORE »

1 2 3 8