Author Archives: Jonathan O'Neal

1 2 3 8
Reviews
“Wicked Things” #1

By | Mar 20, 2020 | Reviews

What more can really be said of the comic book-making clinic that John Allison and Max Sarin put on with “Giant Days” month after month? Each installment was a breezy look into the world of three girls careening toward adulthood. As all good things must, it ended on a bittersweet note, but the world that […]

MORE »
Bang 1 Featured Reviews
“Bang!” #1

By | Feb 21, 2020 | Reviews

Outside of his work-for-hire projects, Matt Kindt has made an impressive creator-owned career by draping familiar premises with multi-layered high concepts. A multinational special ops team of Boy Scouts. A family saga set in a separatist commune in Alaska. A murder mystery at 1000 fathoms. In “Bang!” he’s back to the old espionage stomping grounds […]

MORE »
Reviews
“The Man Who Effed Up Time” #1

By | Feb 7, 2020 | Reviews

John Layman, most recently of the highly decorated “Chew” and “Farmhand” fame, launches a new series on Aftershock with artist Karl Mostert and veteran colorist Dee Cunniffe. It looks great even if it tastes like something we’ve had before. Written by John Layman Illustrated by Karl Mostert Colored by Dee Cunniffe Lettered by John Layman […]

MORE »
once-and-future-1-2p-cvr Columns
Don’t Miss This: “Once and Future”

By | Jan 22, 2020 | Columns

There are a lot of comics out there, but some just stand out head and shoulders above the pack. With “Don’t Miss This” we want to spotlight those series we think need to be on your pull list. This week, we’d like to draw your attention to “Once and Future” from Boom! as the sixth […]

MORE »
Columns
Don’t Miss This: “Silver Surfer: Black”

By | Oct 30, 2019 | Columns

There are a lot of comics out there, but some just stand out head and shoulders above the pack. With “Don’t Miss This” we want to spotlight those series we think need to be on your pull list. This week, we’d like to draw your attention to Marvel’s exquisite five-issue mini-series “Silver Surfer: Black.” Who […]

MORE »
Reviews
“The Marked” #1

By | Oct 18, 2019 | Reviews

We have long since been disabused of the notion that tattoos are the hallmark of criminals, sailors, gang members, and other related ne’er do wells. Tattoos are cool. Moms have tattoos. Dads have tattoos. Your kid’s elementary school teacher has tattoos. Tattoos have become an excepted accessory in the 21st Century, much to the chagrin […]

MORE »
Reviews
“Ruby Falls” #1

By | Oct 4, 2019 | Reviews

The premiere issue of “Ruby Falls,” the latest entry in the Berger Books imprint from Dark Horse Comics, oozes noir elegance. This is comic book industry veteran Ann Nocenti’s second mini series to be shepherded by the legendary editor Karen Berger. The first was Nocenti’s collaboration with David Aja on the hypnotic but currently delayed […]

MORE »
Reviews
“Steeple” #1

By | Sep 20, 2019 | Reviews

John Allison’s droll British wit is on full display in “Steeple” #1, the first installment in a five-issue mini series from Dark Horse Comics written and drawn by the Eisner-winning comic creator. Fans of Allison’s “Giant Days” and “Bad Machinery” should feel right at home in this Cornish countryside. Like a British Sunnydale, the seaside […]

MORE »
Everything-1-featured Reviews
“Everything” #1

By | Sep 6, 2019 | Reviews

The Berger Books imprint of Dark Horse Comics launches another thought-provoking new series with “Everything” #1 not with a thunderous clap, but with a mood-altering invasiveness thanks to the creative team of Christopher Cantrell and I. N. J. Culbard. Borrowing from 1980s suburban paranoia, the book acts not so much as a propulsive narrative that […]

MORE »
pretty-violent-1-featured Reviews
“Pretty Violent” #1

By | Aug 23, 2019 | Reviews

When one of the creative minds behind the weirdly sweet and sweetly weird modern animated classic Adventure Time turns his attention to the comic book medium, it’s difficult not to pay attention. In Derek Hunter’s afterword, he details the moonlighting labor of love that is “Pretty Violent.” It’s not an uncommon refrain for creators of […]

MORE »

1 2 3 8